Summary of Proposed Amendments to Regulation 441

Aspect	Current Governance Structure	Proposed Governance Structure	Regulation Change
Board Size	Nine board members	Eight board membersOne Commission appointed chair	Regulation 441
Commission Appointed Chair/Vice Chair	Chair and vice-chair elected from among board members	 Commission appointed external chair Vice-chair elected from among board members 	Regulation 441 Regulation 400
Board Composition	 Nine members: District 1 - five members District 2 - two members District 3 - two members One year terms 	 Eight members: District 1 - four directors District 2 - two directors District 3 - two directors Two year staggered terms Annual elections with four members up for election each year 	Regulation 441
Board Meeting Quorum Rules	Majority of board members present	 Majority of board members present Chair must be present at all board meetings 	Regulation 441 Regulation 400
Board Voting Rules	 Majority of members present Chair votes to break ties 	 Majority of members present (including chair) Chair votes to break ties 	No changes required
Lifetime Service Limits	None	 12 year lifetime service limit Applied on a go forward basis 	Regulation 441
Mandatory Service Break	 None Unlimited successive one year terms 	 Three, two-year terms with a two year break in service after six years Board members elected in all of the three elections prior to the regulation coming into force would be required to take a two year break in service before becoming eligible for re-election 	Regulation 441
Election Process	 District members elect growers to district committees The district committees vote from within the committee to determine members that are elected to the board 	 District members elect anyone from their district directly to the board District committees would continue Elections to be conducted through an anonymous process 	Regulation 441
Implementation of Amendments	 The first board is to be formed during the fall of 2017 In 2017, the board would include four elected members, who would hold two-year terms, and four Commission appointed members, who would hold one-year terms In 2018, the terms of the four appointed members would come to an end and their replacements would be elected for two-year terms; the four members elected in 2017 would continue their terms for their second year At the election in 2018, all board positions, with the exception of the appointed chair, would be transitioned to elected positions The chair would be appointed by the Commission for an initial term of 2 years, and eligible for reappointment. The term maximum would be 10 years in total. 		